A strong electric-fence gate lets you pass through or open a paddock entry while maintaining an electrified connection, making the right choice depend on your opening and daily routine. The Premier 1 EasyGate is a standout for people who want a rigid walk-through design; flexible openings are better served by stretch-style kits. This roundup compares ten options, from an EasyGate measuring 37 by 50 inches to spring, bungy, and tape gates with listed reaches of up to 23 feet.
Check how each product opens, what connection parts are included, and whether its stated dimensions suit your fence layout. These products are electrified access components, not physical barriers; the EasyGate listing specifically says it must be electrified to contain livestock or deter predators.
The Premier 1 EasyGate is the best overall choice for someone who wants a stable, walk-through entry in an electric fence. Its rigid 37-by-50-inch frame swings on a hinged support post, and stainless steel clips at both ends provide electrical connectivity. Lift the top bar to release its lock and pass through without turning off the energizer.
Unlike stretch-style kits, it is a defined walk-through format rather than a gate sized by a flexible span, so check that its dimensions and post arrangement suit your opening.
Our Top Picks
Best OverallIts rigid 37-by-50-inch walk-through frame swings on a hinged support post, and stainless steel clips provide electrical connectivity at both ends.
View on Amazon
Longest StretchThe preassembled bungy gate adjusts from 11.5 to 23 feet, suiting variable-width gateways, laneways, and pasture entries.
View on Amazon
Best Tape GateGallagher Four Strand Tape Gate
Four connected strands operate from one handle, adjust to 20 feet, and disconnect power when opened according to the listing.
View on Amazon- Wide Rope Reach Zareba Electro-Gate Kit
Compare gate styles, spans, and key features
| # | Product | Weight | Dimensions | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1. Premier 1 EasyGateBest Overall | 10 lb | — | View on Amazon |
| 2 | 2. Gallagher Bungy Gate KitLongest Stretch | — | — | View on Amazon |
| 3 | 3. Gallagher Four Strand Tape GateBest Tape Gate | 4 lb | — | View on Amazon |
| 4 | 4. Zareba Electro-Gate KitWide Rope Reach | 15.2 oz | 5.6"W x 15.8"H | View on Amazon |
| 5 | 5. EFencSolv Spring Gate KitTwo temporary spring-gate openings | 3.45 lb | — | View on Amazon |
| 6 | 6. RiteFENCE Spring Gate KitTwo wide spring-gate openings | 3.83 lb | 5.5 x 8.5 x 3 in | View on Amazon |
| 7 | 7. Zareba 16-Foot Spring Gate KitCompact 16-foot spring-gate setup | 1.06 lb | 3.2 x 7.6 x 10.5 in | View on Amazon |
| 8 | 8. CYM-INSIST Spring Gate KitTwo 16.4-foot spring gates | 2.55 lb | — | View on Amazon |
| 9 | 9. BEIYI Bungy Gate KitLightweight high-visibility bungy gate | 9.6 oz | 10 x 5 x 2.7 in | View on Amazon |
| 10 | 10. Moxweyeni Retractable Gate KitRetractable rope for frequent access | 1.72 lb | 13.39 x 5.51 x 3.54 in | View on Amazon |
Detailed Reviews: Best Gate For Electric Fence
Why it ranks #1: Its rigid 37-by-50-inch walk-through frame swings on a hinged support post, and stainless steel clips provide electrical connectivity at both ends.
A rigid 37-by-50-inch frame gives this walk-through gate a defined opening that keeps its shape, unlike a soft gate. Lift the top bar to release the lock, then pass through without turning off the energizer; stainless steel clips at both ends provide electrical connectivity when the gate is electrified.
The hinged support post lets the frame swing open while helping keep it stable, making repeated paddock entry more structured than handling a loose gate. Lifting the top bar releases the lock, so routine passage does not require switching off the energizer. Stainless steel clips at each end provide the electrical connection, but the gate must be electrified to contain livestock or deter predators. Its rigid frame is not a physical barrier, so it depends on an energized fence system.
- Rigid frame maintains its shape rather than behaving like a soft gate.
- Lift-top lock allows walk-through access.
- Hinged support post provides a stable swinging mount.
- Stainless steel clips at both ends provide electrical connectivity.
- It is not a physical barrier and must be electrified for containment.
Skip it if you need a physical barrier rather than an electrified fence opening; this gate is explicitly not a barrier.
Choose this for frequent paddock access where a rigid, hinged walk-through opening suits the fence layout. It needs an energized electric-fence system for containment and will not serve as a standalone physical barrier.
Full product details
| Brand | Premier 1 Supplies |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 10 pounds |
| Manufacturer | Premier 1 Supplies |
Listed on Amazon as: Premier 1 EasyGate – Rigid Electric Fence Walk-Through Gate, 37" x 50"
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #2: The preassembled bungy gate adjusts from 11.5 to 23 feet, suiting variable-width gateways, laneways, and pasture entries.
An adjustable 11.5-to-23-foot reach lets the Gallagher bungy gate adapt to different pasture entries, laneways, and gateways. It arrives preassembled for quick setup, and its UV-resistant rubber cord is specified for outdoor exposure, helping make it suitable for a gate that remains in service outside.
Because the bungy cord stretches from 11.5 to 23 feet, one gate can accommodate a range of opening widths within that span. The preassembled format supports quicker installation than assembling the cord components on site. Gallagher specifies UV-resistant rubber for outdoor exposure and tension, and a wooden-post pin-lock insulator creates the dead-end connection. That combination suits buyers who want an adjustable, elastic gate attached to a wooden post rather than a rigid walk-through frame.
- Adjusts from 11.5 to 23 feet.
- Preassembled for quick installation.
- UV-resistant rubber cord is specified for outdoor exposure and tension.
- Wooden-post pin-lock insulator provides a dead-end connection.
- Its adjustable span is limited to openings from 11.5 to 23 feet.
Skip it if you need a tape-style gate with a single handle for four strands; Gallagher Four Strand Tape Gate offers that format.
Choose this for pasture entries and laneways where an elastic, preassembled gate must cover a variable span within 11.5 to 23 feet. Its stated dead-end connection uses a wooden-post pin-lock insulator.
Full product details
| Brand | Gallagher |
|---|---|
| Color | Orange,white,black |
| Included Components | Gallagher – G640504 |
| Manufacturer | HORIZON DISTRIBUTION |
| Part Number | Gallagher – G640504 |
| Manufacturer Warranty Description | Warranty. |
| Material | Metal, Plastic |
| Model Number | Gallagher – G640504 |
| Additional Information | Important Information Proposition 65 Warning for California Consumers WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm – www.P65Warnings.ca.gov |
Listed on Amazon as: Gallagher Electric Bungy Gate Kit, Adjustable 11.5ft to 23ft
View on Amazon
#3 · Best Tape Gate
3. Gallagher Four Strand Tape Gate
- Weight: 4 lb
Best for: One-hand four-strand tape access.
Why it ranks #3: Four connected strands operate from one handle, adjust to 20 feet, and disconnect power when opened according to the listing.
Four connected tape strands operate from a single handle, enabling one-hand opening and closing at a fence post. The Gallagher gate adjusts to openings up to 20 feet, while its live hook energizes the gate when closed and disconnects power when opened, providing a clear operating sequence at the crossing.
The single handle connects all four strands and mounts or attaches directly to a fence post, so opening the gate does not mean managing separate tape lines. Adjustable width up to 20 feet helps cover varied gateway sizes within that limit. Its live hook connects power when closed and disconnects it when opened, supporting passage through the gate. The included half-inch tape and clips are described as durable, and the strands are repairable if damaged.
- One handle operates all four strands.
- Adjusts to a maximum width of 20 feet.
- Live hook energizes the gate when closed and disconnects power when opened.
- Strands are described as repairable if damaged.
- The gate's adjustable width tops out at 20 feet.
Skip it if you need an elastic rope gate that reaches 23 feet; Gallagher Electric Bungy Gate Kit extends to that length.
This suits fence owners who prefer four tape strands and one-hand operation at a post, with automatic electrical connection behavior as the gate closes. Keep the opening within its 20-foot maximum width.
Full product details
| Brand | Gallagher |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 4 pounds |
| Item model number | G71804 |
| Manufacturer | Gallagher |
| Package Dimensions | 47 x 8 x 4 inches |
| Additional Information | Important Information Proposition 65 Warning for California Consumers WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm – www.P65Warnings.ca.gov |
Listed on Amazon as: Gallagher Four Strand Tape Electric Fence Gate, Stretches up to 20ft
View on Amazon
#4 · Wide Rope Reach
4. Zareba Electro-Gate Kit
- Weight: 15.2 oz
- Dimensions: 5.6"W x 15.8"H
Best for: Long variable-span livestock access.
Why it ranks #4: Its elastic gate rope stretches from 7 to 20 feet, and the kit includes two anchors, an insulated handle, and an inline adjuster.
A variable-length elastic rope stretches from 7 to 20 feet, giving the Zareba Electro-Gate Kit range for longer electric-fence openings. Its included inline adjuster helps set the length, while two gate anchors and an insulated handle provide the listed attachment and handling components for an easy-to-unhook rope gate.
The 7-to-20-foot stretch supports different opening widths, and the inline length adjuster gives buyers a way to set the rope for the selected span. Two gate anchors are included for attachment, while the insulated handle supports unhooking at the gate. Zareba says the rope will not sag and identifies use with all electric fence types, as well as suitability for horses and other livestock. The kit's elastic-rope format is for fence access, not a rigid physical barrier.
- Variable length from 7 to 20 feet.
- Includes two gate anchors and an insulated handle.
- Inline adjuster supports setting the rope length.
- Listed for all electric fence types and safe for horses and other livestock.
- The maximum listed stretch is 20 feet.
Skip it if you need a rigid walk-through gate rather than elastic rope; Premier 1 EasyGate has a hinged support post and frame.
Choose this for livestock fencing that needs an adjustable, easy-to-unhook rope gate across a span of up to 20 feet. Its elastic format and included anchors suit fence access, not a rigid barrier.
Full product details
| Brand | Zareba |
|---|---|
| Color | Blue |
| Included Components | Zareba – WPGK3 |
| Item Dimensions W x H | 5.6"W x 15.8"H |
| Item Weight | 15.2 ounces |
| Manufacturer | Zareba Systems |
| Part Number | WPGK3 |
| Material | Plastic |
| Model Number | WPGK3 |
| Dimensions | 5.6"W x 15.8"H |
Listed on Amazon as: Zareba Electro-Gate Kit – Weather-Resistant Electric Gate Kit – Includes Anchors, Adjuster, Plastic Handle, Fencing Cord – WPGK3
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #5: This two-kit set includes 23-foot galvanized springs, handles, and anchor insulators, providing the listed components for two flexible openings.
Two spring-gate sets, each with a spring that extends up to 23 feet, make this kit useful for creating access points in temporary or portable electric fencing. The impact-resistant, UV-resistant handles have textured grips, while double-hook anchor insulators provide the connection points for the spring gate.
The extended spring length can span a broad opening, and the product description specifically identifies temporary and portable fencing as a use. Each handle's internal tension spring and double ring support opening and closing, while the grip surface is intended to make handling easier. Galvanized spring steel and galvanized-steel anchor insulators provide the listed metal components for fence use. With two sets included, the kit can equip two separate gate openings rather than just one.
- Includes two spring-gate sets.
- Springs extend up to 23 feet.
- Handles use impact-resistant, UV-resistant plastic with an easier-grip surface.
- Double-hook anchor insulators are made of galvanized steel.
- The spring gate's maximum listed extension is 23 feet.
Skip it if you need a rigid walk-through frame; Premier 1 EasyGate provides a defined hinged opening instead of a spring span.
A fit for farms setting up two temporary or portable fence entrances that can use a spring span up to 23 feet. Choose another gate style if the opening needs a rigid frame rather than a handle-and-spring connection.
Full product details
| Brand | EFencSolv |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 3.45 pounds |
| Manufacturer | HanQ |
| Package Dimensions | 13.54 x 10.98 x 2.64 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: 2 Pack Electric Fence Gate Kit, with Spring Gate Handle, 2 Anchor Insulators and 23 Feet Tension Big Spring,for Electric Fence Gate Livestock Fence Agricultural Fencing and Pasture
View on Amazon
#6
6. RiteFENCE Spring Gate Kit
- Weight: 3.83 lb
- Dimensions: 5.5 x 8.5 x 3 in
Best for: Two wide spring-gate openings.
Why it ranks #6: Two 23-foot springs come with two-way anchor insulators, corner or end fittings, handles, and screws for a multi-part gate setup.
Two galvanized springs that extend up to 23 feet make the RiteFENCE kit suited to outfitting a pair of wide electric-fence openings. Each set includes a spring-loaded, double-loop handle, two-way anchor insulator, and three-way corner or end pieces, giving buyers several listed components for the gate connection.
The 23-foot spring reach can cover wider entries, while galvanized spring steel provides the listed tension element. The handle's threaded grip is intended to make handling easier, and its double-loop end supports opening and closing; the product also describes the handle as insulated. With two handles, anchor insulators, and corner/end pieces included, the kit supplies components for two gate setups. Its stated uses include temporary enclosures and managed intensive grazing, including livestock such as sheep, goats, deer, hogs, and dogs.
- Includes two spring-gate sets.
- Springs extend up to 23 feet.
- Handles have threaded grips and double-loop ends.
- Includes two-way anchor insulators and three-way corner/end pieces.
- The springs' maximum listed extension is 23 feet.
Skip it if you need an adjustable tape gate with four connected strands; Gallagher Four Strand Tape Gate provides that format up to 20 feet.
Choose this for temporary electric-fence enclosures or managed intensive grazing that needs two spring gates and spans up to 23 feet. The included anchor and corner/end components suit buyers assembling those connections.
Full product details
| Brand | RiteFENCE |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 3.83 pounds |
| Manufacturer | QICHUANG |
| Dimensions | 5.5 x 8.5 x 3 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: 2 Pack Electric Fence Spring Gate Kit, Includes 2PCs of 23 feet Big Tension Spring,2PCs of 2-Way Gate Anchor Insulator, 2PCs of 3-Way Corner/Ends,2PCs of Black Gate Handle, with 4 Screws
View on Amazon
#7
7. Zareba 16-Foot Spring Gate Kit
- Weight: 1.06 lb
- Dimensions: 3.2 x 7.6 x 10.5 in
Best for: Compact 16-foot spring-gate setup.
Why it ranks #7: The spring expands to 16 feet and recoils onto the gate post; its kit includes a handle and two gate insulators.
A 16-foot compressed spring expands across the gate opening and recoils neatly onto the post, giving the Zareba kit a tidy storage routine between crossings. The package includes a plastic handle and two gate insulators, with the spring electrified when stretched across the opening.
The spring's reach of up to 16 feet gives a defined limit for matching it to a fence opening, while its recoiled position hangs neatly on the gate post when not extended. The plastic handle provides a grip for opening and closing, and the two gate insulators attach the spring gate to the posts. Zareba lists the kit as including everything needed to attach the spring gate to two posts, making it a straightforward single-opening set rather than a multi-gate bundle.
- Spring expands up to 16 feet.
- Recoiled spring hangs neatly on the gate post.
- Includes a plastic gate handle and two gate insulators.
- Kit includes components to attach the spring gate to two posts.
- The spring gate's maximum listed reach is 16 feet.
Skip it if you need a spring gate spanning 23 feet; RiteFENCE's two-pack spring kit lists extension up to that distance.
A fit for one electric-fence opening up to 16 feet where a recoiling spring that hangs on the post is useful. Its included handle and insulators support a two-post installation, but the reach sets the boundary.
Full product details
| Brand | Zareba |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 1.06 pounds |
| Item model number | GHKS16-Z |
| Manufacturer | Zareba Systems |
| Dimensions | 3.2 x 7.6 x 10.5 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: Zareba Systems GHKS16-Z Electric Fence Spring Gate Kit – Gate Handle, Gate Spring, Insulator, Fitted Gate Handle, Electric Fence System
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #8: Two spring gate kits each provide a galvanized spring that stretches 16.4 feet, with the listing noting it maintains tension without sagging.
Two spring-gate sets with galvanized springs stretching to 16.4 feet provide a paired option for farm, yard, or garden fence openings. The spring is specified to maintain tension without sagging, while polypropylene handles have an anti-skid grip, supporting routine opening and closing without turning off the power.
The spring is intended to stay off the ground when the gate is opened and closed, and its stated 16.4-foot reach covers openings up to that span. Galvanized high-tensile spring construction is specified to maintain tension without sagging. The PP handle's anti-skid grip and the polyethylene's stated weather endurance support handling in outdoor settings. Since the listing includes two sets, buyers can use them at separate openings; the product description says the gate can be operated while power remains on.
- Includes two spring-gate sets.
- Spring stretches to 16.4 feet and is specified not to sag.
- Handle has an anti-skid grip.
- Can be opened and closed without turning off the power.
- Its spring reach is limited to 16.4 feet.
Skip it if you need a spring gate reaching 23 feet; EFencSolv's two-pack spring kit lists extension up to that length.
A practical match for farms, yards, lawns, and gardens needing two spring-gate openings no wider than 16.4 feet. Its tension and off-ground operation suit daily access, but wider openings exceed the listed reach.
Full product details
| Brand | CYM-INSIST |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 2.55 pounds |
| Manufacturer | CYM-INSIST |
| Package Dimensions | 15.12 x 6.81 x 2.95 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: 2 Set Electric Fence Spring Gate Kit 16.4ft
View on Amazon
#9
9. BEIYI Bungy Gate Kit
- Weight: 9.6 oz
- Dimensions: 10 x 5 x 2.7 in
Best for: Lightweight high-visibility bungy gate.
Why it ranks #9: This lightweight bungy-style kit has a high-visibility orange handle and includes installation parts, but the listing gives no gate-span measurement.
A bright orange handle makes this bungy gate easy to spot at an access point, while its elasticized electric-fence rope stretches to open the passage. BEIYI lists installation parts as included, so buyers can use the supplied system rather than purchasing additional parts, and the polypropylene handle is described as weather-ready.
The elastic rope is intended to stretch while maintaining electrical connectivity, linking the gate's flexible opening action with fence operation. BEIYI describes the rope as sturdy and durable, though it does not state a span, so buyers cannot match it to a specific opening width from the supplied details. The orange PP handle adds visibility at the gate, and the included installation parts support setup without sourcing additional components. Its lightweight 9.6-ounce listing may also suit handling during installation.
- High-visibility orange handle.
- Elasticized rope stretches for gate access.
- Installation parts are included.
- PP handle is described as sturdy for adverse weather.
- The supplied product details do not state a maximum gate span.
Skip it if you need a specified adjustable span; Gallagher Electric Bungy Gate Kit lists a range from 11.5 to 23 feet.
Consider this for a temporary livestock gate where a visible handle, elastic rope, and supplied installation parts suit the setup. The listed details give no maximum span, so it is not a documented choice for a measured opening.
Full product details
| Brand | BEIYI |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 9.6 ounces |
| Manufacturer | BEIYI |
| Dimensions | 10 x 5 x 2.7 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: Electric Fence Bungy Gate Kit, Electrified Bungee Gate Handle with Elasticized Rope for Livestock, Insulators Temporary System, Easy Installation
View on Amazon
#10
10. Moxweyeni Retractable Gate Kit
- Weight: 1.72 lb
- Dimensions: 13.39 x 5.51 x 3.54 in
Best for: Retractable rope for frequent access.
Why it ranks #10: Its built-in 5-meter energizing rope retracts for access, but the listing does not provide an opening-width range or comparable gate-span specification.
A built-in retractable 5-meter energizing rope automatically retracts as the gate opens or closes, enabling access without disconnecting power. Moxweyeni describes the rope as reusable and fitted with steel-core wire for power transmission, making this handle kit a distinct option for farm or ranch tasks involving repeated gate operation.
The retractable rope stores itself during opening and closing, which supports a tidier workflow than handling a loose span at each passage. Its 5-meter energizing rope includes steel-core wire for power transmission, and the retractable design allows connectivity and disconnection as needed. Moxweyeni identifies the kit for electric-fencing gates in farm and ranch settings. Because the stated rope length is 5 meters, buyers should select it for openings that work with that reach rather than a wider gate span.
- Built-in rope retracts automatically.
- Includes a 5-meter energizing rope.
- Steel-core wire is specified for power transmission.
- Reusable design supports repeated gate operation.
- The built-in rope is limited to the listed 5-meter length.
Skip it if you need an elastic gate span reaching 23 feet; RiteFENCE's two-pack spring kit lists springs that extend that far.
This suits farm or ranch users making repeated gate crossings who value a retracting rope and built-in power connection. Its 5-meter rope is the key fit limit for choosing it at a particular opening.
Full product details
| Brand | Moxweyeni |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 1.72 pounds |
| Item model number | DD-Moxweyeni-2936 |
| Manufacturer | Moxweyeni |
| Dimensions | 13.39 x 5.51 x 3.54 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: 1 Set Electric Fence Gate Handle Kit, Retractable Insulated Reusable Electric Fence Handle Built in 5m Energizing Rope for Farm Ranch Livestock Electric-Fencing Gate Connector
View on AmazonWhy an electric gate is not a physical barrier
An electric gate kit should be treated as an electrified access point, not as a sturdy fence panel that physically contains animals. The Premier 1 EasyGate listing makes this distinction explicit: it must be electrified to help contain livestock and deter predators, and it is not a physical barrier. Flexible options have the same practical limitation: a spring, bungy cord, tape, or rope makes a closable electrified span, but the product descriptions do not claim that it can restrain an animal through physical strength alone.
That matters when selecting a gate for animals likely to push through or when the fence is not energized. Choose a separate physical barrier or suitable enclosure structure where containment must continue without electrical power.
Also follow the gate and energizer instructions when opening or servicing the system; the listings do not establish that every gate design disconnects power in the same way.
Avoid the span and connection mismatch
Match a gate’s stated span and connection arrangement to the actual opening before choosing a kit. The listed ranges differ: Gallagher Bungy Gate Kit stretches from 11.5 to 23 feet, Zareba Electro-Gate Kit from 7 to 20 feet, and Zareba 16-Foot Spring Gate Kit expands up to 16 feet. A 23-foot maximum does not mean every opening within that range will have the right tension or installation geometry; the product data does not specify a universal minimum working tension or post spacing.
Connection parts also vary. Premier 1 EasyGate lists stainless steel clips at both ends, while kits such as EFencSolv Spring Gate Kit include anchor insulators and handles.
Compare the included parts with your existing posts and fence conductors, and verify what additional installation hardware your setup requires. A mismatch can leave you with a gate that cannot be attached as intended.
How to Choose an Electric Fence Gate
Gate format and access routine
Choose a format that suits how you enter the enclosure and what kind of opening you need to close. Premier 1 EasyGate is a rigid walk-through gate measuring 37 by 50 inches; its top bar lifts to release the lock, and the frame swings on a hinged support post. Flexible kits instead use a spring, bungy, tape, or rope span, allowing the gate to be opened at the fence line.
The EasyGate suits frequent foot access where its fixed dimensions fit the layout. A stretch-style kit is more appropriate when the opening is a variable-width span rather than a walk-through passage.
Decide which motion is practical for your routine before comparing reach or included fittings.
Opening width and stretch range
Measure the clear opening and compare it with the product’s stated reach, rather than assuming all stretch gates fit the same span. Gallagher Bungy Gate Kit adjusts from 11.5 to 23 feet, Zareba Electro-Gate Kit stretches from 7 to 20 feet, and Gallagher Four Strand Tape Gate adjusts up to 20 feet. The CYM-INSIST Spring Gate Kit lists a 16.4-foot spring, while Zareba 16-Foot Spring Gate Kit expands up to 16 feet.
Buyers with wider or variable openings may favour a product with a higher stated maximum, while smaller spans may suit shorter options. These figures do not establish a shared minimum installation width, so confirm the particular kit’s requirements before ordering.
Included fittings and electrical connection
Check whether the kit includes the fittings needed to attach and operate it in your existing fence layout. EFencSolv Spring Gate Kit includes handles and anchor insulators with its 23-foot spring; RiteFENCE Spring Gate Kit lists two-way anchor insulators, corner or end fittings, handles, and screws. Zareba Electro-Gate Kit includes two gate anchors, an insulated handle, and an inline length adjuster.
Gallagher Four Strand Tape Gate uses a single handle for its four strands and lists a live hook that energizes the gate when closed and disconnects power when opened. A buyer replacing a complete gate assembly may prefer a kit with more listed components.
Someone integrating an existing setup should verify compatibility rather than assume every fitting will match.
Which Electric Fence Gate Fits Your Setup?
For a rigid walk-through entry, choose Premier 1 EasyGate: its 37-by-50-inch frame swings on a hinged support post and releases by lifting the top bar. For a flexible, wider opening, Gallagher Bungy Gate Kit offers an adjustable 11.5-to-23-foot span. Choose Gallagher Four Strand Tape Gate if you prefer four connected tape strands operated with one handle and an opening up to 20 feet.
For a complete rope-style kit with anchors and an inline adjuster, consider Zareba Electro-Gate Kit, which stretches from 7 to 20 feet. If you need two spring gates with long spans, EFencSolv Spring Gate Kit includes 23-foot springs and fittings.
Before settling on any flexible option, confirm your opening width, post layout, and electrical connections; these products are not physical barriers when unenergized.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I match an electric gate kit to the width and layout of my fence opening?
Measure the opening and check where the gate can attach before choosing a kit. Compare those details with the product’s stated span and post arrangement. A rigid walk-through gate has fixed dimensions, while flexible kits cover stated ranges or maximum spans; confirm that your opening and electrical connections suit the option.
Can an electric fence gate be opened safely while the energizer is on?
Some gate designs allow passage while the energizer remains on: the Premier 1 EasyGate releases when you lift its top bar. Do not assume every spring, bungy, tape, or rope gate works the same way. Follow the product’s instructions, and switch off the energizer before handling wires or making adjustments.
What should I check if a spring or bungy gate stops maintaining tension or electrical contact?
Check that the gate is attached securely, its anchors and insulators are in place, and the spring or rope is not caught or damaged. Confirm that the conductive parts make contact at their connections. Turn off the energizer before inspecting or adjusting the gate, and follow the kit’s instructions.
When should I choose a tape gate instead of a rope or bungy gate?
Choose by the format and span that suit your opening. The Gallagher Four Strand Tape Gate uses four connected tape strands with one handle and opens up to 20 feet. Rope and bungy options offer different kit formats and stated spans, so compare those details with your posts and preferred setup.
Will an electric gate keep animals contained when the energizer is off?
Do not rely on these electric gate kits as physical barriers when unenergized. The editorial guidance notes that flexible options are not physical barriers without power. Consider the role of the surrounding fence and how you will manage access when power is off, and follow the product’s safety instructions.
Final Words
For a stable walk-through entry, the Premier 1 EasyGate is the clearest fit if its fixed dimensions and hinged-post arrangement suit your opening. For a wider flexible span, compare the Gallagher Bungy Gate Kit’s adjustable range with the four-strand tape or rope-style options. Check opening width, post layout, and electrical connections before choosing.
Treat any flexible gate as an energized boundary, not a physical barrier when power is off.


